Unable to delete downloaded maps

Comments

5 comments

  • Avatar
    Chris Hill

    Hey @jarnogr

    I'm sorry that you had trouble deleting map downloads.

    We have found an issue affecting downloads, and we have an open bug report for this issue. I apologize for the trouble.

    As a workaround, you can 'sync' your maps with gaiagps.com and then delete them from the website. The next time you sync your device, the maps will get removed there as well.

    - Open the app> Settings> Account> tap Last Sync to force a sync
    - Log into your account on the website> Click the drop-down menu by your profile picture> Maps> Use the checkboxes next to a map to select it> Delete
    - Open the app and sync your account again 

    If you have any questions, please let me know.

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    jarnogr

    Hi Chris,

    I have tried that method and run into the same problem, except that in this case the syncing never ends and the maps are not deleted from my phone. Since it's endlessly busy syncing the maps, nothing I do after that will be synced to gaiagps.com until I clear the app cache on my phone or reinstall the app.

     

    Kind regards,

    Jarno

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Robyn
    Jarno,

    I'm sorry this workaround is not helping. Do you mind emailing support@gaiagps.com so we can take a closer look at your account and help find a workaround for you?
     
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    yves_aubut

    I am having the same problem today. Large maps do not delete. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Jim Margolis

    @yves_aubut

    Android version 2020.4 will have much faster map deletion.

    Follow these steps to update: 

    1. Open the Google Play Store app .
    2. Tap Menu   My apps & games.
    3. Apps with an update available are labeled "Update."
    4. Tap Update All to update all apps. For individual apps, find the specific app you want to update and tap Update.

    Note: Some apps require new permissions when they are updated. You may see a notification asking if you accept the new permissions.
    Tip: In some cases, you may need to restart your device to update an app.

    If you still have trouble deleting large maps, you can 'sync' your maps with gaiagps.com and then delete them from the website. The next time you sync your device, the maps will get removed:


    If you have any other questions, please contact us by click the "Help" button at the bottom of the page.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.